East Boros Sports Hall of Fame announces Class of 2018

August 6, 2018

The Class of 2018 for the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame, East Boros Chapter, recently was announced, and eight new members will join the more than 350 already enshrined.

The 41st annual induction banquet will be Oct. 11 at Edgewood Country Club in Churchill.

Leading the group is Plum native R.J. Umberger whose ice hockey career at several levels included 11 seasons (2005-16) in the National Hockey League with both the Philadelphia Flyers and Columbus Blue Jackets.

Umberger scored 194 goals in the regular season and playoffs combined.

Also to be celebrated are Joe DelloStritto (Plum), Bob Flajnik (Plum), Jim Alcorn (Penn Hills), Mickey Catello (Penn Hills), Alfreeda Goff (East Allegheny), Dave Loya (East Allegheny) and Barbara Russell (Wilkinsburg).

Flajnik, a 1985 Plum grad who went on to find success in numerous marathons and triathlons all throughout the country, will be a posthumous induction.

The list of past East Boros inductees reads like a who’s who in sports. Included on that list is Dick Groat (1978), Elroy Face (1991), Bill Hillgrove (2005), Leon Hart (1979), Ken Macha (1989) and Herb Sendek (2001).

For more information on this year’s induction class, the October induction banquet or the hall of fame overall, visit paeastborosshof.com, email contact@paeastborosshof.com or call 412-551-0227.

Update hourly