Related topics

How Judges Voted on School Prayer

June 19, 2000

The Supreme Court justices’ split in Monday’s school-prayer decision, the year they were nominated, the president who appointed them and the president’s party.

In the majority:

Justice John Paul Stevens, 1975 _ President Ford, Republican.

Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, 1981 _ President Reagan, Republican.

Justice Anthony M. Kennedy, 1988 _ Reagan, Republican.

Justice David H. Souter, 1990 _ President Bush, Republican.

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, 1993 _ President Clinton, Democrat.

Justice Stephen G. Breyer, 1994 _ Clinton, Democrat.

In dissent:

Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist 1972 _ President Nixon, Republican; elevated to chief in 1986 by Reagan, Republican.

Justice Antonin Scalia, 1986 _ Reagan, Republican.

Clarence Thomas, 1991 _ Bush, Republican.

Update hourly