Related topics

AP Sportlight

January 28, 2019
Jan. 29

1950 — In an Associated Press poll of sports writers and broadcasters, Jack Dempsey is voted the greatest fighter of the past 50 years. Dempsey received 251 votes to 104 for Joe Louis.

1963 — Eleven players and six officials are elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Jim Thorpe, Red Grange, Bronco Nagurski, Sammy Baugh, Dutch Clark, Johnny McNally, Ernie Nevers, Mel Hein, Pete Henry, Cal Hubbard and Don Hutson are the players. The officials are Bert Bell, Joe Carr, George Halas, Curly Lambeau, Tim Mara and George Preston.

1971 — Hal Greer of the Philadelphia 76ers becomes the sixth player in NBA history to score 20,000 points.

1980 — Norm Nixon plays a then-NBA record 64 minutes for Los Angeles in the Lakers’ 154-153 four-overtime loss to Cleveland.

1984 — The East outlasts the West 154-145 in overtime in the All-Star Game in Denver. MVP Isiah Thomas scores all 21 of his points after halftime and adds 15 assists as the East overcomes a 14-point halftime deficit and Magic Johnson’s record 22 assists.

1985 — Edmonton’s Jari Kurri scores his 100th point in the 39th game of the season with a goal in a 4-2 victory over the Calgary Flames.

1985 — Bryan Trottier of the New York Islanders scores his 1,000th point with a goal in a 4-4 tie with the Minnesota North Stars.

1988 — Canada’s Ben Johnson breaks his world indoor best at 50 yards. His time of 5.15 seconds in Toronto erases his mark of 5.20 seconds, set two weeks earlier.

1988 — The Pistons draw an NBA regular-season record crowd of 61,983 to the Pontiac Silverdome, and Detroit downs the Boston Celtics 125-108.

1994 — Julio Cesar Chavez is sent to his first loss in 91 fights when Frankie Randall knocks him down in the 11th round and wins the WBC super lightweight championship on a split decision.

1995 — San Francisco’s Steve Young throws a record six touchdown passes, and the 49ers became the first team to win five Super Bowls with a 49-26 rout of the San Diego Chargers.

1997 — Brian Himmler rolls two perfect games to take the lead after the first two rounds of qualifying at the PBA’s Columbia 300 Open.

2000 — Utah’s Karl Malone becomes the third player in NBA history to score 30,000 points when he makes a layup with 8:53 left in the third quarter of a 96-94 loss to Minnesota.

2010 — Bernard Lagat wins his eighth Wanamaker Mile at 103rd Millrose Games in New York. Lagat, who finishes in 3:56.34, had shared the record with Irish great Eamonn Coghlan.

2012 — Lydia Ko, at 14years, eight months, becomes the youngest person to win a professional golf tour event. She wins the Bing Lee/Samsung Women’s NSW Open on the Australian women’s tour.

2012 — Novak Djokovic outlasts Rafael Nadal to successfully defend his Australian Open title in the longest Grand Slam final and becomes the fifth man to win three straight majors in the Open era. Djokovic completes a 5-hour, 53-minute 5-7, 6-4, 6-2, 6-7 (5), 7-5 victory over Nadal at 1:37 a.m.

2017 — Roger Federer wins his 18th major title by beating Rafael Nadal 6-4, 3-6, 6-1, 3-6, 6-3 to capture the Australian Open.

Update hourly