Cowgill named fourth ward councilman

January 9, 2019

La PORTE — The La Porte City Council welcomed a new member during Monday’s meeting at city hall.

La Porte Mayor Mark Krentz announced that Mike Cowgill had been caucused in by the Republican Party to fill the vacancy left when Clerk Treasurer Roger Galloway took office.

Cowgill will now be representing the fourth ward. After the City Council meeting he talked about how he is still adjusting to the new position.

“It’s going to take a while,” Cowgill said. “I’m getting my feet wet tonight.”

He went on to note his excitement for the new challenge.

“It’s interesting and I probably have a long way to go, but it’s going be fun,” Cowgill said.

Cowgill is a retired factory worker. He spent 35 years working for New York Blower.

Cowgill started in local politics serving as a precinct committeemen. When the council position became available, he spoke to Clerk-Treasurer Galloway about being considered.

Galloway had previously represented the fourth ward on La Porte City Council before being caucused in as the city’s Clerk-Treasurer in November. He was elected to the council in 2011.

Galloway was caucused into the Clerk-Treasurer position after the passing of former Clerk-Treasurer, Teresa Ludlow. He will serve serve out the rest of the term, which is scheduled to expire at the end 2019.

During the meeting, the council voted on another council position, where they appointed Councilman Miles Fettinger as the new President Pro-Tem.

The President Pro-Tem position takes the place of the mayor, if the mayor should be absent from any council meeting. Although Fettinger was not present at the meeting on Monday, he was voted to the position unanimously.

Update hourly