Local Wrestlers Take Titles, Qualify for States

February 10, 2019

Austin Dube (113 pounds), Stephan Saint-Juste (152) and Omar Eldaly (220) won individual titles while helping Shawsheen Tech post a third-place finish in the team standings at the Division 1 North Sectional Wrestling Tournament at Methuen High on Saturday.

Sectional Tournaments

Haverhill won the Division 1 North team crown, finishing with 223.5 points. St. John’s Prep was second at 181.5, followed by Shawsheen (178), Methuen (166), Lawrence (150.5), Chelmsford (132) and Lowell (120).

At the Division 2 North Sectional at Salem High, Dracut High finished second in the team standings.

Several local wrestlers won individual titles. The top four finishers at each Sectional advance to next weekend’s divisional state meets.

Shawsheen Tech

Frank Foti was second at 120, while Vincent Foti placed third at 145.

Andre Comeau (195), Michael Steen (170), Nick Lavino (132) and Will Amaral (182) posted fifth place finishes. Joe Dampolo was sixth at 106.


James Best was the Division 1 North Sectional champion at 132.

Alexander Ciocco (126) and Alexander Lizotte (120) posted sixth place finishes.


Senior Aaron Diaz was the Division 1 North Sectional champion at 195 pounds, posting a 3-0 record with three first-period pins..

Andrew Phal (113), Clevince Bogle (132) and Brock Pare (152) posted fourth place finishes for the Red Raiders to qualify for next week’s D1 state meet..

Hunter Williams (106) and Seth Turner (138) placed fifth at their respective weights. Delwin Gutierrez (145) and Thomas Radzik (285) notched sixth-place finishes.


Winning individual titles for the Lions at the Division 1 North Sectional were Evan Kinney (106), Patrick Hughes (120) and Anthony Hubbard (126).

Evan Goodall placed second at 145.

Aiden Ahern was fourth at 220.

Devon Giannino (152) and Matt Kilmartin (180) posted sixth-place finishes.

Westford Academy

Jake Morash led the way for Westford Academy by posting a second place finish at 182 at the Division 1 North Sectional. Stephen Donovan was third at 126.

Placing fourth at their weight class were Ryan Walsh (120), Patrick Hickey (138) and Will Rudiman (170). Jack Quaranto (113), Ian Njihia (132) and Justin Quinton (195) posted sixth place finishes.


Devin Lambert (145) and Calvin Desmarais (160) won titles while leading Dracut to a second place finish in the teams standings at the Division 2 North Sectional at Salem High.

Kyle Durkin (170) and Allyn French (182) came through with second place finishes for the Middies.

Ty Stewert (113), Dante Rossetti (120) and Alex Reis (220) notched third place finishes. Adil Njikam was fourth at 285. Justin Bettencourt was fifth at 195, and Tyrian Saeturn was sixth at 152.


Junior Dylan Chandler went 4-0 for the day en route to winning the 285-pound championship at the Division 2 North Sectional.

Tewksbury finished sixth in the team standings with 119 points.

Posting second place finishes for the Redmen were Cam Cimmino (138) and Jake Garland (145). Pat Fleming was third at 170. Connor Charron placed fourth at 126, and Nick Wilson was sixth at 220.

Greater Lowell Tech

Gabe Nieves posted a fourth place finish at 152 for the Gryphons at the Division 2 North Sectional.

Lucas Freire (170), Daelon Rich (220) and Torrey Smith (285) notched fourth-place finishes for the Gryphons, ninth in the team standings with 89 points.

Placing sixth in their weight class were Randy Fournier (113), Drew Carbonneau (120) and Patrick Carney (138).


Evan Rankin (120) and Josh Ducharme (138) won individual crowns while helping Tyngsboro post a fifth place finish in the team standings with 120 points at the Division 3 North Sectional at Melrose High.

Mark Thomas was third at 170, while Zach Souza placed fourth at 160.

Colin Michalik placed fifth at 220 and Matt Tyros was sixth at 145.

Nashoba Tech

DJ Fraser was the 220 champion at the Division 3 North Sectional. Jason Mendonca was third at 138.


Pelham defeated Portsmouth, 60-12, and lost to Hollis-Brookline, 54-25, and Windham, 42-36, at a regular season New Hampshire quad meet.

Patrick Soonthornprapuet (106), Owen Haskins (152), Evan Haskins (170) and Conor Maslanek (195) were triple winners for Pelham.

Jacob Donovan (132), Nick Carroll (182) and Ryan Leuteritz (220) won two matches apiece.

Update hourly