ADELAIDE, Australia (AP) — Australia won the toss and chose to bat Sunday in the fifth and final one-day cricket international against England at the Adelaide Oval.

Captain Michael Clarke returned to the Australian lineup after missing the fourth match at Perth which England won by 57 runs. Australia holds a winning 3-1 lead in the series.

All rounder Shane Watson, off-spinner Xavier Doherty and fast bowler Clint McKay also return to the Australian lineup for the match which marks the Australia Day national holiday.

England made one change to the side which achieved its first win in eight matches against Australia this summer, naming Joe Root in place of Gary Ballance.

England captain Alastair Cook said he also would have batted had he won the toss.


Australia: Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty.

England: Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Eion Morgan, Joe Root, Ravi Bopara, Ben Stokes, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Chris Jordan, James Tredwell.

Umpires: Simon Fry, Australia, and Ranmore Martinesz, Sri Lanka.

Television umpire: Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka. Match referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.