Related topics

Sacramento, Houston Lead WNBA Stars

September 2, 1999

NEW YORK (AP) _ Center Yolanda Griffith, the WNBA’s most valuable player, and her Sacramento teammate, guard Tichi Penicheiro were voted to the all-league team announced Thursday.

Houston also placed two players on the first team, forward Sheryl Swoopes and guard Cynthia Cooper.

Completing the squad was Natalie Williams of Utah.

Swoopes was the top vote-getter with 253 points, three more than Griffith or Cooper, the runners-up, in voting by a panel of 51 media members.

Griffith, in addition to the being the MVP, also was voted Newcomer of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Rookie of the Year Chamique Holdsclaw of Washington was voted to the second team, along with forward Tina Thompson of Houston, center Lisa Leslie of Los Angeles and guards Teresa Weatherspoon of New York and Shannon Johnson of Orlando.

Each first-team member gets $10,000, double the amount going to second-team selections.

Update hourly