Related topics

India wins toss, bats 1st against South Africa in World Cup

February 22, 2015

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa in their Cricket World Cup Pool B match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday.

India named an unchanged lineup to the one that beat Pakistan by 76 runs at Adelaide last week.

South Africa replaced allrounder Farhaan Behardien with fast bowler Wayne Parnell, while including legspinner Imran Tahir in its lineup as captain A.B. de Villers resisted fielding an all pace attack.

The match will be played in humid and windy conditions, with a forecast of possible showers later.


South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Francois du Plessis, A.B. de Villiers, David Miller, J.P. Duminy, Vernon Philander, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Pakistan, and Richard Kettleborough, England.

TV umpire: Steve Davis, England. Match referee: Jeff Crowe, New Zealand.

Update hourly