Related topics

Federer loses...Rays beat Tigers...Twins send Reed to DL

July 11, 2018

LONDON (AP) — Defending champion Roger Federer has been knocked out of Wimbledon after wasting a match point in the third set. The defending champion lost to Kevin Anderson of South Africa, 2-6, 6-7, 7-5, 6-4, 13-11. In other quarterfinal matches today, Novak Djokovic (NOH’-vak JOH’-kuh-vich) beat Kei Nishikori (kay nih-shih-KOHR’-ee) 6-3, 3-6, 6-2, 6-2, Rafael Nadal is playing Juan Martin del Potro and Milos Raonic (MEE’-lohsh ROW’-nihch) is facing ninth-seeded John Isner (IHZ’-nur).

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. (AP) — C.J. Cron’s three-run home run in the seventh inning has carried the Tampa Bay Rays to their fifth straight win, a 4-2 victory over the Detroit Tigers. Cron’s 18th homer came off Jordan Zimmermann after singles by Kevin Kiermaier and Matt Duffy. The Tigers, who struck out 14 times against five Tampa Bay pitchers, have lost four straight and 18 of 22.

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — The Minnesota Twins have placed right-handed reliever Addison Reed on the 10-day disabled list with tightness in his triceps. The move was made before Wednesday’s game against Kansas City. It’s Reed’s first trip to the disabled list in his seven-year major league career.

NEW YORK (AP) — The New York Giants have spent a 2019 third-round draft pick on Western Michigan cornerback Sam Beal, and Washington has selected Virginia Tech cornerback Adonis Alexander in the sixth round today. New York will surrender its third-round pick in next April’s draft in Nashville, while the Redskins give up a sixth-rounder. Both players were ruled academically ineligible for the upcoming college football season and entered the supplemental draft.

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (AP) — Two-time national champion and 2007 Heisman Trophy winner Tim Tebow will be inducted into Florida’s ring of honor this fall, becoming the school’s sixth player to receive the honor. He’ll join linebacker Wilber Marshall, running back Emmitt Smith, 1966 Heisman winner and coach Steve Spurrier, 1996 Heisman winner Danny Wuerffel and defensive end Jack Youngblood. Tebow went 35-6 in four seasons at Florida, from 2006 to 2009.

Update hourly