Related topics

NZ wins toss, bats 1st against Bangladesh

October 9, 2013

CHITTAGONG, Bangladesh (AP) — New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and opted to bat first in the opening test of a two-match series against Bangladesh at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

The weather at Chittagong was sunny, but clouds hovered as the groundsmen worked overnight to prepare the outfield after rains returned late afternoon.

Bangladesh dropped Al Amin, Mahmudullah and Naeem Islam from its 14-member squad and handed middle order batsman Marshall Aiyub a test debut.

New Zealand picked two newcomers — Ish Sodhi and Corey Anderson — and dropped Tom Latham, Mark Gillespie, Neil Wagner, Dean Brownlie.



Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain, Mominul Haque, Marshall Ayub, Robiul Islam.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Corey Anderson, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi, Bruce Martin.

Update hourly