Related topics

New Stamps to Honor Five Olympians

May 31, 1990

WASHINGTON (AP) _ A set of postage stamps honoring five American Olympic athletes will be issued July 6, the Postal Service announced Wednesday.

Featured on the 25-cent stamps are Jesse Owens, Ray Ewry, Hazel Wrightman, Eddie Eagan and Helene Madison.

Texts adjacent to the stamps state:

-Jesse Owens won world acclaim by capturing four gold medals in track and field at Berlin in 1936.

-Three-time Olympian Ray Ewry won eight gold medals in the standing high jump and other jumping events.

-Donor of the trophy for the U.S.-Great Britain women’s tennis series, Hazel Wightman won two gold medals in 1924.

-Boxer and bobsledder Eddie Eagan was the only U.S. gold medal winner in both the Summer and Winter Games.

-Swimmer Helene Madison won three Olympic gold medals in the Summer Games at Los Angeles in 1932.

The stamps will be printed in sheets of 35. First day of issue ceremonies will be held in Minneapolis, Minn.

The stamps are the first issued by the Postal Service as part of its co- sponsorship of the 1991 Olympic Games to be held in Albertville, France, and Barcelona, Spain.

Update hourly