Click to copy
Click to copy
Related topics


May 28, 2019

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) — Oklahoma State sophomore Matt Wolff closed with a 3-under 69 to win the NCAA title by five shots on Monday and lead the Cowboys to the No. 1 seed going into match play for the team title.

Wolff had a two-shot lead going into the final round at Blessings Golf Club and never gave anyone much of a chance. He finished at 10-under 278 to become the first Oklahoma State player to win the individual golf title since Jonathan Moore in 2006. Steven Fisk of Georgia Southern shot 71 to finish second.

The Cowboys finished 31 shots ahead of Vanderbilt.

Also advancing to match play were Wake Forest, Texas, Oklahoma, Stanford and Texas A&M. Clemson and SMU were in a playoff to determine the No. 8 seed.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.