Related topics

Pakistan wins toss, elects to bat

August 30, 2014

DAMBULLA, Sri Lanka (AP) — Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bat in the series-deciding third and final one-day international against Sri Lanka on Saturday.

Pakistan’s bowling was beefed up with the return of off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, who missed the first two games and underwent tests on his suspected bowling action in Australia.

Ajmal replaced fast bowler Junaid Khan, who took only one wicket across the previous two matches at a cost of 139 runs.

Sri Lanka, which leveled the series with a 77-run victory in the second match, brought in fast bowler Dhammika Prasad for his first game of the series in place of Nuwan Kulasekara.

Pakistan won the first game by chasing down a 276-run target with four wickets to spare.



Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, , Rangana Herath, Dhammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan.

Update hourly