Related topics

Pakistan wins toss, elects to bat first in 2nd ODI

October 10, 2014

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bat first against Australia in the second one-day international on Friday.

Pakistan trails 1-0 in the three-match series after losing the first match by 93 runs at Sharjah on Tuesday.

Surprisingly, Pakistan didn’t tinker with its struggling batting lineup which was bowled out for 162 in the first match while chasing a 256-run winning target.

Both teams brought in an additional spinner in a belief the Dubai International Cricket Stadium pitch will assist slow bowlers.

Australia included Xavier Doherty, who was flown in as a replacement for Mitchell Marsh. Doherty replaced in the match fast bowler Sean Abbott, who took one wicket in his debut ODI on Tuesday.

For Pakistan, left-arm spinner Raza Hasan was in for fast bowler Anwar Ali.



Australia: George Bailey (captain), Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner, Brad Haddin, Xavier Doherty, Mitchell Johnson, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfraz Ahmed, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Raza Hasan, Wahab Riaz, Zulfiqar Babar, Mohammad Irfan.

Update hourly