Related topics

Golf Glance

April 2, 2013

All Times EDT



Site: Rancho Mirage, Calif.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Purse: $2 million. Winner’s share: $300,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, noon-3 p.m., 6-9 p.m.; Friday, 1:30-4:30 a.m., noon-3 p.m., 6-9 p.m.; Saturday, 1:30-4:30 a.m., 5-9 p.m.; Sunday, 1-5 a.m., 5-9 p.m.; Monday, 1-5 a.m.).

Last year: Sun Young Yoo won with an 18-foot birdie putt on the first playoff hole, earning her first major title after South Korean compatriot I.K. Kim missed a 1-foot putt on the final hole of regulation. Yoo and Kim finished at 9 under.

Last event: Spain’s Beatriz Recari won the Kia Classic on March 24 in Carlsbad for her second LPGA Tour title. She beat Kim with a birdie on the second hole of a playoff.

Notes: Stacy Lewis won the 2011 tournament for her first LPGA Tour title. She won consecutive events in Singapore and Phoenix this year to take the top spot in the world. ... Yani Tseng, the 2010 champion, is winless in a year. She was dropped from the Kia Classic field after oversleeping and missing her pro-am tee time. ... New Zealand amateur Lydia Ko is making her first start in the event. She won the Canadian Open in August to become the youngest LPGA Tour winner at 15 years, 4 months, 2 days. The South Korea-born Ko also won the New South Wales Open last year and the New Zealand Women’s Open this year. She finished second behind Jiyai Shin in February in the LPGA Tour’s Australian Women’s Open. ... The event, first played in 1972 as the Colgate Dinah Shore, became a major in 1983. ... The tour is off next week. Play will resume April 17-20 with the LPGA Lotte Championship in Hawaii.

Online: http://www.lpga.com




Site: San Antonio.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: JW Marriott, TPC San Antonio, Oaks Course (7,522 yards, par 72).

Purse: $6.2 million. Winner’s share: $1,116,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 3-6 p.m., 9:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m., 1-3 p.m., 9:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m.) and NBC (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Ben Curtis won his fourth PGA Tour title and first since 2006, holding off Matt Every and John Huh by two strokes.

Last week: D.A. Points won the Houston Open for his second tour title, making a 12-foot par putt on the final hole for a one-stroke victory over Henrik Stenson and Billy Horschel.

Notes: The Masters is next week at Augusta National. ... Second-ranked Rory McIlroy entered the tournament Friday. He tied for 45th last week in the Houston Open. ... The winner, if not already in the Masters field, will receive the final spot at Augusta National. ... The event, played in San Antonio since 1922, is in its fourth season at the Greg Norman-designed Oaks after 15 years at La Cantera. The layout has three par 5s of more than 600 yards. ... Tommy Armour III set the PGA Tour’s 72-hole scoring record in the 2003 tournament, finishing at 26-under 254. He shot 64-62-63-66. ... Mike Souchak won in 1955 at Brackenridge Park at 27-under 257. ... Former University of Texas player Justin Leonard won in 2000, 2001 and 2007.

Online: http://www.pgatour.com




Site: Sao Paulo.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Sao Paulo Golf Club (6,574 yards, par 71).

Purse: $675,000. Winner’s share: $121,500.

Television: None.

Last year: Inaugural event.

Last event: Edward Loar won the Louisiana Open on March 24 for his second Web.com Tour title, closing with a 2-under 69 in windy conditions for a two-stroke victory.

Notes: The tournament is the fifth of the season. Kevin Foley, the winner of the season-opening Panama Claro Championship, is in the field. ... The Stanley Thompson-designed course opened in 1935. ... The WNB Golf Classic is next week in Midland, Texas.

Online: http://www.pgatour.com



Next event: Greater Gwinnett Championship, April 19-21, TPC Sugarloaf, Duluth, Ga.

Last event: Michael Allen won the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic on March 24 for his fourth Champions Tour title, beating Bernhard Langer by a stroke.

Online: http://www.pgatour.com



Next event: Masters, April 11-14, Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Ga.

Last week: Germany’s Marcel Siem won the Hassan II Trophy in Morocco for his third European Tour title. England’s David Horsey and Finland’s Mikko Ilonen tied for second, three strokes back.

Online: http://www.europeantour.com




ASIAN TOUR: Panasonic Open India, Thursday-Sunday, Delhi Golf Club, New Delhi. Online: http://www.asiantour.com

NGA TOUR: NeSmith Chevrolet Classic, Thursday-Sunday, Sapelo Hammock Golf Club, Shellman Bluff, Ga. Online: http://www.ngatour.com

eGOLF PROFESSIONAL TOUR: Founders Club Classic, through Thursday, Founders Club at St. James, Southport, N.C. Online: http://www.egolfprofessionaltour.com


JAPAN LPGA TOUR: Yamaha Ladies Open, Thursday-Sunday, Katsuragi Golf Club, Shizuoka, Japan. Online: http://www.lpga.or.jp

Update hourly