Penalty Period On Municipal, County Tax Payments Ends Monday

December 28, 2018

The penalty period for all 2018 municipal and Luzerne County property tax bills ends Monday, according to the county treasurer’s office.

Penalty payments that are postmarked Dec. 31 or earlier will be accepted by all tax collectors, according to a news release the treasurer’s office issued Thursday.

The postmark must be clearly visible, for audit purposes, and taxpayers should not use postage stamps with a QR code, since the U.S. Postal Service does not postmark that type of stamp.

At this point, taxpayers should not send personal checks, or rely on their bank’s bill payment service, the news release states.

Property owners from Newport Twp., Wilkes-Barre, Hazleton, Nanticoke and Pittston may make a payment at www.LuzerneCounty.org. A convenience fee of 2.5 percent will apply to payments made by debit or credit card, while a $1.50 flat fee will be charged for eCheck payments.

The treasurer’s office, on the first floor of the county courthouse on North River Street in Wilkes-Barre, is open 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Update hourly