Related topics

Zimbabwe wins toss, elects to field first

August 31, 2013

HARARE, Zimbabwe (AP) — Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor won the toss and elected to field first in the series-deciding third one-day international against Pakistan at Harare Sports Club on Saturday.

Zimbabwe shocked Pakistan with a seven-wicket victory in the first match before the visitors roared back with a convincing 90-run win to level the series last Thursday.

The home team is eyeing an elusive series victory as it has not won a bilateral ODI series against a major team since beating New Zealand 2-1 twelve years ago.

Zimbabwe brought in fast bowler Shingi Masakadza, younger brother of opening batsman Hamilton, and middle order batsman Sikandar Raza in place of Brian Vitori and Timycen Maruma respectively.

Pakistan retained the same playing XI which won last Thursday.



Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (captain), Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Sean Williams, Sikander Raza, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Prosper Utseya, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara, Shingi Masakadza.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Amin, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed, Abdul Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan.

Update hourly