Burgum, Senate leaders trim ethics panel finalists to 12

July 12, 2019

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — North Dakota Republican Gov. Doug Burgum and Senate leaders have chosen a dozen finalists for a voter-approved ethics commission.

Nearly 70 people applied to serve on the five-member panel to oversee the conduct of legislators, statewide officials, candidates and lobbyists.

Burgum, and Republican Senate Majority Leader Rich Wardner and Senate Minority Leader Joan Heckaman must agree by consensus on who sits on the panel.

The meeting Friday was the third round of selecting candidates. Another meeting is expected within two weeks to further trim the list.

The 12 finalists are Ward Koeser, Williston; Ron Goodman, Oakes; Cynthia Lindquist, Devils Lake; Paul Richard, Fargo; David Anderson, Bismarck; Bill Knudson, Mandan; Ken Christianson, Fargo; Marilyn Foss, Bismarck; Dan Fuller, West Fargo; Clarice Liechty, Jamestown; Shirley Meyer, Dickinson; and Jeff Risk, Minot.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.